Skip to content

The one poem you should read (Home, LA)

Post written on “Dream in my head” from Yael Naim.

Do you believe in signs in life? I do.

Do you believe that who ever you meet during your life instill something in you that you would never have seen if you haven’t met that person? I do.

A week ago my grand-mother passed away. She was 94 years old. She was an exceptional woman, a positive soul, a dreamer, a poet. Last week-end I discovered one of her poem that was strangely an echo to some of the thoughts I had almost exactly two years ago. At the time, I could not find the right words so I just wrote a post called “Just do it”. (This post is on the Mantra tab of the blog and was posted on February 19th 2013)  

I would like to share her poem with you.

Poem written by Myra Goldberg:

JUST DO IT

Emphasizing, Energizing, Idolizing
Intellectualizing, Edifying
All these things I’m prone to try
When problems hit me in the eye
Till I find I’m in a fit
It’s then I stop and say
JUST DO IT !

Oh, the anguished days I’ve spent
In my turmoil giving vent
For all the tears and rages
I could write you pages
So when my soul is in a fit
I say to myself
JUST DO IT !

When days have past and
Weeks fly by
I look myself right in the eye
And say it’s time to meet it square
And not let thing be in the air
JUST DO IT !

You’ve got to set the matter straight
And be on time,
Don’t dare be late
You cannot change oncoming fate
JUST DO IT !

Meet the challenge, take the dare
You know that life is never fair
Be brave, be sure
Don’t be afraid, the best of plans
Have often strayed

Don’t let them knock you of your feet
Just stand erect and walk tall
Move on, no time to sit
Life’s not an endless pit
Honey, JUST DO IT !

Written by Myra Goldberg

This post is dedicated to my inspirational grand-mother who I will deeply love above and beyond death.

As always, you can comment, like and share this post… so Just do it!

Leave a Reply

Follow Jenni Jane's Blog on WordPress.com

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Humans of New York

Behind the brand ... Life & Exploration

The Sartorialist

Behind the brand ... Life & Exploration

Pauline

Behind the brand ... Life & Exploration

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Alix de Beer

Behind the brand ... Life & Exploration

rose la biche - reinventing everyday basics

Behind the brand ... Life & Exploration

Deedee

Behind the brand ... Life & Exploration

so parislux !

Simply be yourself, as if, it was possible, at least bite into it!

