Skip to content

My near war experience (home, Paris 1er)

Post written on “Seize the day” from Wax Tailor

I just came back from Israel where I have spent 2 weeks. The first week was split between urban wanders in Jerusalem before the city was locked down. The second half of the week was in Tel-Aviv just before the rockets hit the city. When the rockets firing started in TLV, I had just left for the north of the country.  I was crossing fingers for Lebanon to remain in peace as we were staying at some friends just 8 km away from the lebanese borders. It was close to 11 PM saturday night when I heard several “boom” outside. My family and I were all gathered in the living room reading some stories. It was the first time in my life I heard the sound of a bomb, the sound of what war can be. Thankfully the rockets did not reach our village and fell a couple of miles away from the house we were staying in. Still, you have this moment of uncertainty where you just don’t know how things will turn out. I had prepared a bag for my kids with sneakers, food and diapers in case we had to run to the shelter in the middle of the night. At that point, I felt mixed feelings: hope, fear, faith, sadness for the ones injured on both sides. The Israeli Defense Force put an end to the bombing after 30 min of the rockets attack. A little bit before midnight, the silence was king again. A silence that brings back emotional peacefulness.

As I am writing this post, I have a quote from Steve Jobs’s Stanford speech coming back to mind that I would like to share:

“If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?” And whenever the answer has been “No” for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something.”

Be safe, take care, make peace and seize the day!

As always, share this post.

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 reply »

  1. I love you and i’m so glad you are home safe and sound! It must have been terrifying to experience that, on top of all the emotions you are feeling for the innocent victims of the war. XOXO

Leave a Reply

Follow Jenni Jane's Blog on WordPress.com

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Humans of New York

Behind the brand ... Life & Exploration

The Sartorialist

Behind the brand ... Life & Exploration

Pauline

Behind the brand ... Life & Exploration

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Alix de Beer

Behind the brand ... Life & Exploration

rose la biche - reinventing everyday basics

Behind the brand ... Life & Exploration

Deedee

Behind the brand ... Life & Exploration

so parislux !

Simply be yourself, as if, it was possible, at least bite into it!

