Skip to content

#BringBackOurGirls (Home, Paris 1er)

Post written while listening to “Jailer” from Asa (Nigerian singer who I love).
I will write this post in English as I felt compelled to do so.
#BringBackOurGirls: The terrifying news that struck us a couple of days ago just made my blood run cold…
Yesterday I gave kisses and hugs to my kids before they went to school and wish them a great day. This ritual of love happens every morning without me fearing for their security, their lives or their freedom. This is a given in this part of the world.
Yesterday, Paris was under a grey sky and a cold, windy weather, abnormal for mid-May. I guess the weather was a simple reflection of this horrific act.
I stood in a small crowd of women, facing the Parisian iron figure, strong, straight, dominant, the Eiffel Tower. I looked at the women faces, I listened to their words, their inner screaming and crying. We were all mothers, sisters or daughters, we were all standing there praying that it would make a difference.
I am writing these words, I look at the date: we are in May 2014. This still sadly exists.
Snapshots, Trocadéro, Paris, #BringBackOurGirls
#Bringbackourgirls #Bringbackourgirls #Bringbackourgirls #Bringbackourgirls
1 reply »

Leave a Reply

Follow Jenni Jane's Blog on WordPress.com

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Humans of New York

Behind the brand ... Life & Exploration

The Sartorialist

Behind the brand ... Life & Exploration

Pauline

Behind the brand ... Life & Exploration

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Alix de Beer

Behind the brand ... Life & Exploration

rose la biche - reinventing everyday basics

Behind the brand ... Life & Exploration

Deedee

Behind the brand ... Life & Exploration

so parislux !

Simply be yourself, as if, it was possible, at least bite into it!

